Spaziergänge

Karl Heinz Jeron • 2008

QR Code, Openstreetmap Kartensoftware, Projekt Gutenberg Archiv und die Festival Sprachsynthesesoftware

Spaziergänge ist ein psychogeographischer Audioführer. Er beschreibt eine fiktionale Ebene der Wirklichkeit, um absurde oder surreale Situationen zu erzeugen. Die Audioführer benutzen die Openstreetmap Kartensoftware zur Orientierung. Mittels Sprachsynthese konvertierte Texte aus dem Projekt Gutenberg sind durch QR Codes abrufbar. Die Suche im Gutenberg Archiv beruht auf den Straßennamen.

Die Audioführer vermitteln keine bestimmten Informationen für einen bestimmten Ort. Es geht nur um die eigene Stimmung, Neigung und Standort.

Spaziergänge ist eine Form der Psychogeography, wie sie von Guy Debord und der Situationistischen Internationale als eine Art bewusstes Gehen entwickelt wurde. Psychogeography versucht die “echte Stadt” unter dem was Debord Spektakel nennt freizulegen. Unter Spektakel versteht er die glitzernde und verführerische Kommerzialisierung der Ideen.

Die Audioführer beziehen sich genau auf das Konzept des Dérive und Détournement. Dérive oder streunen, bedeutet spazieren gehen und dabei den eigenen emotionalen und psychologischen Bahnen der städtischen Umgebung zu folgen, aber sich nicht  auf eine geplante Infrastruktur zu verlassen (z.B den kürzesten Weg von der Arbeit nach hause). Ein Dérive zu verfolgen verlangt “. . . to notice the way in which certain areas, streets, or buildings resonate with states of mind, inclinations, and desires, and to seek out reasons for movement other than those for which an environment was designed,” erläuterte Sadie Plant 1992.

Walks

Karl Heinz Jeron • 2008

QR Code, Openstreetmap software, Projekt Gutenberg archive and the Festival speech synthesis

Walks is a psychogeographycal audio guide. The artwork creates a fictional layer above the real world to create absurd or surreal situations. The guided audio tours use the Openstreetmap software to get directions. A text to speech conversion of texts retrieved from Project Gutenberg are available through QR codes. The search at Gutenberg is directed by street names.

In the audio guides, there is nothing to tell you when and where to listen to any particular entry, except your own moods, inclination, and place.

Walks is a form of psychogeography, a type of conscious wandering developed by Guy Debord and the Situationist International. Psychogeography attempts to reveal the ‘real city’ underneath what Debord called The Spectacle, which can be generally described as the flashy and seductive commodification of ideas.

Specifically, the audio guides draw on the concepts of the dérive and détournement. The dérive, or, “to drift,” involves walking around and trying to follow the emotional and psychological trajectories of an urban environment, rather than the ones planned out for you (the shortest commute from home to work, etc.) To pursue a dérive was “. . . to notice the way in which certain areas, streets, or buildings resonate with states of mind, inclinations, and desires, and to seek out reasons for movement other than those for which an environment was designed,” explained Sadie Plant in 1992.